MCube @IAA Mobility 2021

From September 7 to 12, 2021, scientists from the Technical University of Munich (TUM) represented their research projects at the IAA Mobility. In keeping with the triad between science, business and society, MCube was part of the "Citizens Lab" at Marienplatz in the heart of Munich. The aim of the "Citizens Lab" was to bring together all those who want to jointly work out and understand mobility issues of the future and develop possible solutions.

(c) Michaela Mühlbauer, muenchen.de

IAA Mobility erstmals in München

With the move from Frankfurt to Munich, the IAA Mobility presented itself with a new concept this year. Lectures, discussions and presentations for the trade took place over several days in the exhibition halls in Riem. At the same time, information rooms were set up in downtown Munich to serve as "Open Spaces" for interested citizens. The goal: to make new mobility concepts freely accessible to the public, to test the new ideas and concepts, and to engage in a lively exchange.

In total, more than 400,000 visitors were counted at all venues. The "Open Spaces" in the city, and thus also the "Citizens Lab", were very well attended. In addition to exhibitors such as EIT Urban Mobility, HÜRO Mobility and the Senior Citizens' Advisory Council of the City of Munich, MCube was also present.  

(c) IAA Mobility 2021

TUM: Bundled mobility competence as part of the Citizens Lab

In particular, with the expansion of the TUM.Mobility platform, TUM bundles research from various chairs that deal with innovation in the field of mobility. In addition to MCube, the TUM area of the "Citizens Lab" therefore included a bicycle simulator from the Chair of Traffic Engineering, through which visitors could test the new collision warning system on a ride through a virtual city. The TUM stand also offered insights into projects such as Providentia++, which deals with the topic of autonomous driving, or the Hyperloop project of the Faculty of Aeronautics, Astronautics and Geodesy, which is researching climate-neutral, ground-based means of transport for ultra-fast connections between mobility centres.

Participants of the MCube student project "euMOVE - European Mobility Venture" also presented part of their research results in the Dialog Arena, which was also part of the "Citizens Lab". The presentation followed the principle of Pecha Kucha, in which 20 consecutive images structure the presentation, but none of them can be seen for longer than 20 seconds.

In dialogues, presentations, demonstrations and extensive information material, general and individual questions, ideas and concerns of the civilian population were addressed here. Right in the middle: MCube as a regional network of actors from science, business and society. The interdisciplinary team of researchers informed visitors at the stand about the launch of the future cluster and exchanged views with visitors on the burning questions and challenges in the mobility sector. Central topics at the TUM stand in the "Citizens Lab" - such as sustainability, social justice and ethical issues surrounding automation - clearly showed that the road ahead will be exciting and must be shaped in a participatory manner. 

(c) Julia Kinigadner

MCube @IAA Mobility in the media

The press also picked up on MCube's presence at the IAA Mobility. Members of the MCube consortium were represented twice: In a 6 September 2021 feature of the ZDF heute JOURNAL, Professor Gebhard Wulforst, as head of the Chair of Urban Structure and Transport Planning, explains that he expects major changes in the form, drive and use of the car. Nevertheless, he emphasises:

"I think it's also important that we remain self-reliant in our own mobility choices."

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gebhard Wulfhorst

Furthermore, in an interview with the ZDF heute JOURNAL (7 September 2021), Professor Markus Lienkamp, as head of the Department of Automotive Engineering, predicts that the research results of his team will be used as a basis for the future:

"By the mid-2020s, electric vehicles will no longer be more expensive than internal combustion engine-powered vehicles."

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Markus Lienkamp

MCube @IAA Mobility 2021

Vom 07. bis 12. September 2021 repräsentierten Wissenschaftler:innen der Technischen Universität München (TUM) ihre Forschungsprojekte auf der IAA Mobility. Ganz im Sinne des Dreiklangs zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft war MCube dort Teil des “Citizens Lab” auf dem Marienplatz im Herzen Münchens. Ziel des „Citizens Lab“ war es, all diejenigen zusammen zu bringen, die Mobilitätsfragen der Zukunft gemeinsam erarbeiten, verstehen und mögliche Lösungsansätze entwickeln wollen.

(c) Michaela Mühlbauer, muenchen.de

IAA Mobility erstmals in München

Mit dem Umzug von Frankfurt nach München präsentierte sich die IAA Mobility in diesem Jahr mit einem neuen Konzept. In den Messehallen Riem fanden über mehrere Tage hinweg Vorträge, Diskussionen und Präsentationen für die Fachwelt statt. Parallel wurden in der Münchner Innenstadt Informationsräume aufgebaut, die sich als “Open Spaces” an interessierte Bürger:innen wenden. Das Ziel: neue Mobilitätskonzepte für die Öffentlichkeit frei zugänglich zu machen, die neuen Ideen und Konzepte testen und in einen regen Austausch treten.

Insgesamt wurden an allen Veranstaltungsorten mehr als 400.000 Besucher:innen gezählt. Die neben dem Messegelände auch eingebundenen “Open Spaces” in der Stadt, und somit auch das “Citizens Lab”, waren sehr gut besucht. Neben Austeller:innen wie EIT Urban Mobility, HÜRO Mobility, oder dem Seniorenbeirat der Landeshauptstadt München, durfte auch MCube dort nicht fehlen.  

(c) IAA Mobility 2021

TUM: Gebündelte Mobilitätskompetenz als Teil des Citizens Lab

Insbesondere mit dem Ausbau der Plattform TUM.Mobility bündelt die TUM Forschung verschiedener Lehrstühle, die sich mit Innovation im Bereich Mobilität beschäftigen. Neben MCube war daher in dem TUM-Bereich des „Citizens Lab“ beispielsweise ein Fahrradsimulator des Lehrstuhls für Verkehrstechnik aufgebaut, durch den Besucher:innen das neue Kollisionswarnsystem auf einer Fahrt durch eine virtuelle Stadt testen konnten. Am Stand der TUM gab es außerdem Einblick in Projekte wie Providentia++, das sich mit dem Thema autonomes Fahren beschäftigt, oder das Hyperloop-Projekt der Fakultät für Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Geodäsie, das an klimaneutralen, bodengebundenen Verkehrsmitteln zur ultraschnellen Verbindung von Mobilitätszentren forscht.

Teilnehmende des MCube-Studierendenprojekts „euMOVE – European Mobility Venture“ präsentierten zudem einen Teil ihrer Forschungsergebnisse in der Dialog Arena, die ebenfalls Teil des „Citizens Lab“ war. Die Präsentation folgte dem Prinzip des Pecha Kucha, bei dem 20 aufeinenaderfolgende Bilder den Vortrag strukturieren, von denen aber keines länger als 20 Sekunden zu sehen ist.

In Dialogen, Präsentationen, Vorführungen und umfangreichen Informationsmaterialien wurden hier allgemeine und individuellen Fragen, Ideen und Anliegen der Zivilbevölkerung thematisiert. Mittendrinnen: MCube als ein regionales Netzwerk an Akteur:innen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Das interdisziplinäre Team an Forscher:innen informierte am Stand über den Start des Zukunftsclusters und tauschte sich mit den Besucher:innen über die brennenden Fragen und Herausforderungen im Mobilitätssektor aus. Zentrale Themen am TUM-Stand im „Citizens Lab“ – wie Nachhaltigkeit, soziale Gerechtigkeit und ethische Fragen rund um die Automatisierung – zeigten deutlich, dass der Weg spannend wird und partizipativ gestaltet werden muss. 

(c) Julia Kinigadner

MCube @IAA Mobility in den Medien

Auch die Presse greifte die Präsenz von MCube auf der IAA Mobility auf. Mitglieder des MCube-Konsortiums waren dabei gleich zwei mal vertreten: In einem Beitrag vom 6. September 2021 des ZDF heute JOURNAL erklärt Professor Gebhard Wulforst als Leitung des Lehrstuhls für Siedlungsstruktur und Verkehrsplanung, dass er große Veränderungen in der Form, Antrieb und Nutzung des Autos erwarte. Dennoch betont er:

„Ich glaube, dass es auch wichtig ist, dass wir selbstständig in unseren eigenen Mobilitätsentscheidungen bleiben.“

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gebhard Wulfhorst

Desweiteren prognostiziert Professor Markus Lienkamp als Leitung des Lehrstuhls für Fahrzeugtechnik in einem Interview mit dem ZDF heute JOURNAL (7. September 2021) auf Basis der Forschungsergebnisse seines Teams:

„Mitte der 2020er werden Elektrofahrzeuge nicht mehr teurer sein als verbrennungsmotorisch betriebene Fahrzeuge.“

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Markus Lienkamp